Practice Leader of The Year

Practice Leader of the Year Award Nominations
Nominations Accepted through May 24, 2022

Is there a leader in your practice who has demonstrated an unwavering commitment to their team while consistently upholding the practice’s core values and helping them to achieve their mission? If so, nominate that individual for this prestigious award! All veterinary leaders within clinical practice are eligible to be selected as the recipient so long as they devote no less than half of their time to administrative duties.

The recipient of this award will be recognized at IVECCS 2022. They will receive an engraved crystal trophy along with a monetary gift. Most importantly, they receive the much-deserved honor and recognition of being celebrated for all that they do to support their team and the broader profession.

A note from Bo Compton, our 2020 Practice Leader of the Year
“Early in our leadership careers, we make mistakes. Sometimes we confuse leadership with control.  You learn, over time, that being a true leader is so much more than maintaining authority.  We strive to be better each and every day. We learn from our past and apply new concepts toward making tomorrow better than today.
I won this award in 2020, and it gives me a sense of achievement and validation… that I have changed… that I have become a better leader… that I have the ability to create a better space for future veterinary generations.”

Click “Start entry”, under program select “IVECCS”, then under category select “Awards/Nominations”, then “Practice Leadership Award”.

T. Douglas Byars Equine Educator of the Year Award

2022 T. Douglas Byars Equine Educator of the Year Award
Nominations Closed October 25, 2021

The T. Douglas Byars Equine Educator of the Year Award will be presented at IVECCS 2022 in San Antonio, TX, September 7-11. The award is based on contributions to equine/large animal emergency and critical care education and programs, where individuals nominated must have been a speaker for IVECCS in the past. The award has been named in honor and memory of Dr. T. Douglas Byars who played an instrumental role in the development of the Large Animal Emergency & Critical Care specialty within ACVECC.

The 2022 recipient will be honored at the General Session Awards Ceremony and will provide several lectures during the large animal specialty program at IVECCS.

Congratulations to the 2022 Recipient
Julie Dechant, DVM, MS, DACVS and DACVECC

Dr. Julie E. Dechant, DVM, MS, Diplomate ACVS and ACVECC graduated from the University of Saskatchewan, completed a Large Animal Surgery Residency at Colorado State University, and a Large Animal Emergency and Critical Care Fellowship at UC Davis.  She is board certified in the American College of Veterinary Surgeons and in the American College of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care.  Dr. Dechant has been at UC Davis since 2004 and is currently a Professor in Clinical Equine Surgical Emergency and Critical Care at UC Davis.  She received Faculty Teaching Awards from the School of Veterinary Medicine (2015) and UC Davis (2016).  Her research interests are related to improving the diagnosis and care of large animal emergency and critical care patients, with a secondary interest in camelid medicine and associated research.  Dr. Dechant enjoys sharing her passion for emergency and critical care, and helping students and veterinarians feel more confident in managing these stressful and challenging patients.

View Dr. Dechant’s IVECCS Lectures

Zaslow Distinguished Service Award

2022 Zaslow Distinguished Service Award
Congrats to 2022 winner, Dr. Bob Messenger!

The VECCS Distinguished Service Award is named for Ira M. Zaslow, one of the founding fathers of VECCS and ACVECC.  Since the early 1970’s, Dr. Zaslow has worked tirelessly to develop and spearhead the advancement of veterinary emergency and critical care.  His commitment, dedication, vision, and service to the organizations are legendary and unsurpassed. Through his original efforts, VECCS and ACVECC have become prominent international veterinary organizations and IVECCS has become a world-renowned international symposium. This award is chosen by the VECCS Board of Directors to honor a VECCS member who has given selflessly to grow and support our organization.

Nominations for 2023 will open June 1, 2022.

Dr. Jack Mara ACVECC Scientific Achievement Award

2022 Dr. Jack Mara ACVECC Scientific Achievement Award

The American College of Veterinary and Critical Care (ACVECC) recognizes the significance of veterinarians who have made a great contribution to the advancement of our understanding in veterinary emergency and critical care. The Diplomates of ACVECC each year elect the individuals that they recognize as leaders in the quest for knowledge in a particular area of emergency and critical care medicine. ACVECC also recognizes one of the greatest advocates of veterinary emergency and critical care and veterinary continuing education. It is with tremendous sadness that we commemorate Jack, but also great pride in knowing that his vision and passion will live on in veterinary emergency and critical care.

Dr. Jack Mara, longtime Director of Veterinary Affairs for Hill’s Pet Nutrition and Lifetime Member of the Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care Society (VECCS), was a vital player in the growth and advancement of Veterinary Emergency and Critical Care. He was always an enthusiastic supporter of education and scientific programs, he has been critical in promoting and supporting VECCS meetings (contributing to the formation of ACVECC), technician programs (leading to formation of AVECCT), and the VECCS /ACVECC Research awards. True to his passion for both science and nutrition, he created clinical nutrition residencies and graduate studies to advance the science and understanding of nutrition in all aspects of veterinary medicine.

The recipient will be honored at the General Session Awards Ceremony.